Car accidents happen nearly every day in South Texas, which you probably already know if you have spent any time on the road. Even if you are the best driver in town, the risk of an accident remains.
Hopefully, you will not find yourself in this situation, but here are four mistakes to avoid if you do.
1. Leaving the scene
Texas law states that you must make sure there are no injuries before leaving an accident. If you fail to check on others involved and they have a minor injury, you could face a felony charge, a prison sentence of up to five years, and a fine of up to $5,000. If the injury is major, the prison time jumps to ten years, and the fine goes up to $10,000 as penalties for a third-degree felony.
2. Ignoring injuries
Ignoring your injuries will not make them go away, but it may worsen them. Little aches and pains may seem insignificant, but they can become bigger issues down the road. If you sustain injuries in a car accident, you should get medical attention to address every symptom and ensure that the information is well-documented in medical records.
3. Talking to insurance companies
Talking to insurance companies, whether your own or another driver’s, may harm your insurance claim if you share inaccurate information or too much of the right information. For this reason, you should obtain guidance from someone with experience dealing with insurance adjusters’ tactics.
4. Admitting fault
While it might seem harmless, saying, “I am so sorry,” following a car accident can function as an admission of guilt. Withholding apologies may contradict your instincts, but it could help your case.
Keep these tips in mind to avoid things going from bad to worse after a car accident.