With over 35 states with legalized medical marijuana, every state government is looking at their relationship with cannabis and cannabis-related products.
Right now in Texas, hemp and CBD oil allowances have made marijuana possession charges more complicated. According to the Texas Tribune, a house bill seeks to limit the legal and social impact small-time possession has on people.
Class B to Class C misdemeanor
The different severities of these drug crime charges carry considerably different weights. A Class B misdemeanor may prevent people from obtaining firearms or it may cause the courts to suspend a driver’s license.
The bill that the Texas House approved on April 23rd aims to reduce certain marijuana possession crimes from a Class B misdemeanor to Class C, while also providing an avenue for record expungement.
Right now the Class B charge, possession of up to two ounces of marijuana has a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. The bill seeks to reduce possession of one ounce or less to a charge that carries no jail time. It would also prevent law enforcement from making an arrest for possession under an ounce.
Defense against the current charges
The article suggests that this initiative may have a hard time in the Texas Senate, which means anyone suspected of drug charges still needs to contend with the increased penalties for now.
These sorts of charges have a lasting impact on a person’s future and require an aggressive approach to criminal defense. Getting a case dismissed, negotiating a favorable plea deal, or litigating against misconduct in the case are all avenues of defense.