If you or someone in your family was recently arrested for and charged with an impaired driving offense in Texas, you will want to learn more about the laws governing these situations and the potential outcomes if a conviction results.
From the loss of driving privileges to the required payment of high fines and more, a driver convicted of driving while intoxicated in Texas may experience a range of penalties. The exact penalties may vary depending on the circumstances.
Prior DWI convictions
As explained by the Texas Department of Transportation, the presence of any previous convictions for driving while intoxicated on a person’s record may result in more severe consequences for a current charge.
For example, if a person ends up with two DWI convictions within the span of five years, they may need to install and use an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. The IID prevents them from driving until they provide a clean breath sample.
Fines, driver’s license suspension periods
Children in the vehicle
A person’s penalties for a DWI conviction may increase if a child 14 years of age or younger was in the vehicle at the time of the defendant’s arrest. This scenario may result in the driver paying as much as $10,000 in fines, spending up to 24 months in jail and losing the right to drive for as long as 180 days.
More information about the elements that may contribute to the outcome of a suspected drunk driving case may be found on the driving while intoxicated charges page of our Texas DWI and criminal defense website.