Although marijuana concentrates, like pressed hashish, have existed for centuries, a modern form of this extract is currently quite popular. Butane hash oil, also called BHO, wax, glass, shatter or dabs, is a highly concentrated form of marijuana extract that has seen a boom in popularity over the last decade. While smoking marijuana was once the most popular form of ingesting it, more people than ever are turning to dabbing.
Dabbing is the slang term for the process of vaporizing marijuana concentrates on a heated surface. Because of the concentration of the substance, less is needed to obtain the same effect when compared with natural state marijuana. It is also easier to conceal, as it has less of that tell-tale smell and takes up very little space. While many marijuana users enjoy dabs, they may not realize they are committing a felony in Texas.
Marijuana is still illegal in Texas
While several states have already legalized marijuana for adult recreational use, Texas does not allow for any non-medical use of marijuana. Currently, Texas only has a very restrictive medical marijuana program that allows those with seizure conditions to use specific kinds of marijuana low in THC. While many people with serious medical conditions may use dabs because it allows for a high dose of the active ingredients in marijuana without smoking, they are still breaking the law.
Possession of up to two ounces of natural-state marijuana is a misdemeanor in Texas. That shouldn't lull you into thinking that you'll get a slap on the wrist if you get caught with any form of marijuana concentrates. In fact, possession of any amount of BHO or even pressed hashish is a felony offense in Texas.
Even first time offenders could face harsh penalties
If law enforcement officers catch you with so much as a tiny scrap of residue of marijuana concentrates, they can charge you with a felony. Any amount, up to a gram, carries a penalty of between 180 days and two years in jail, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
If you get caught while in possession of between one and four grams of a marijuana concentrate, the penalties increase to between two and ten years in jail, along with that $10,000 fine. For those with between four and 400 grams, the maximum jail time increases to 20 years.
For those who make or sell these products, the penalties could be even higher. Sale or manufacture of between four and 400 grams could lead to between five and 99 years in jail. Manufacture of more than 400 grams could result in a lifetime prison sentence.
Given how harsh these penalties are, it's important for anyone facing marijuana concentrate charges to take them seriously.