Around the nation, Texas is known as a place that does not go easy on people who make mistakes. When someone in our state gets behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking alcohol, they can be arrested and subject to a wide range of punishments.
A recent news broadcast pointed out the severity of the punishments, including harsh sanctions that can be meted out to those who arrested and convicted of a first offense DWI.
One of the most important things to do know drunk driving laws is that in the state of Texas, you are considered impaired if your blood alcohol content is at .08 percent or above.
Those who are convicted of driving while intoxicated for the first time face punishments that include the following:
- You face from three to 180 days in jail
- Your driver's license can be suspended for up to two years
- You can be fined up to $2,000
- You can be ordered in some cases to have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle
- You can be ordered to take an alcohol/DWI class
While that list of punishments is harsh, it's not complete. Those convicted of DWI also face future problems finding (and affording) car insurance. A DWI conviction can also have a negative impact on future education and employment opportunities.
For a second DWI offense, the punishments get tougher. You can spend up to a year in jail, pay up to $4,000 in fines and have your license suspended for up to two years.
The punishments escalate for third offenses, DWI with a child in the vehicle and more.
Contact an Edinburg attorney experienced in DWI defense to discuss your legal options.