Texas is hard on people who violate DWI laws. DWIs put people's lives at risk, which is why it's so imperative only to drive when you're sober. If you're caught driving after you've had too much to drink, you could face many different penalties.
Fortunately, there are defenses that can help you have your case dismissed or penalties reduced significantly. For example, if your attorney can show that an officer had no probable cause to pull your vehicle over, then the case may be completely dismissed with no penalties.
What are Texas' DWI laws?
Starting at a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration, officers can charge you with a DWI whether or not you appear intoxicated. For those under the age of 21, the BAC may be under 0.02 percent before an arrest. Enhanced penalties begin at 0.15 percent, which is nearly twice the legal limit for alcohol in your system while driving.
Penalties for DWIs can impact you severely. Even on a first offense, there are penalties that you could suffer from. For instance, individuals could be required to use ignition interlock devices or have their vehicles confiscated. A first offense DWI leads to at least a 90-day minimum license suspension or revocation, which only gets longer with each additional DWI on your record. The judge also gets to decide if you need to seek alcohol education, treatment or have an assessment.
First-time offenders face heavy fines of up to $2,000. Jail time is also a requirement, starting at a minimum of three days behind bars.
Texas is hard on drunk drivers, which is why it's vital to defend yourself as soon as possible when you're placed under arrest. Your attorney can help fight for you, so you don't face unfair penalties or punishments that could have been avoided.